Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


October 16, 2009 at 8:00 pm

$5 – $20

What do the stillness of the night, the structure of a lily, a Hallowe’en bonfire, acoustic blues, and the voice of Paul Robeson all have in common? They’re all celebrated by the composers of our “Homage” concert, which opens our eighteenth season: “Reflections on People, Times, and Places.”

George Crumb
Four Nocturnes (Night Music II) (1964)
for violin and piano

  • Notturno I: Serenamente
  • Notturno II: Scorrevole; Allegro possibile
  • Notturno III: Contemplativo
  • Notturno IV: Con un sentimento di nostalgia

Kaija Saariaho
Nymphéa (1987)
for string quartet and electronics

Charles Ives
Hallowe’en  (1906–07)
for string quartet and piano

Elliott Carter
Figment No. 2: Remembering Mr. Ives (2001)
for cello solo

Stephen Hartke
Oh Them Rats Is Mean in My Kitchen (1985)
for violin duo

Michael Daugherty
Paul Robeson Told Me (1994)
for  string quartet and tape


October 16, 2009
8:00 pm
$5 – $20
Event Category: